Valkyrie war movie
Valkyrie war movie

Valkyrie (2008, United States)

Categories: political moviesresistance movies

Running time: 120 minutes

Language: English


After disastrous campaign in Africa Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg is certain that Germany is doomed if they wonít stop Hitler. Together with other officers he forms the organization that plans to kill Fuehrer and take over the power. Their attempts to assassinate Hitler failed until 20 July 1944, when Stauffenberg plants the explosives in the bunker inside Wolfís Lair. From that point the 20 July Plot has to act fast in order to take control over Germany.

American version of such German movies as "Es geschah am 20. Juli", "Der 20. Juli" or "Stauffenberg" - they all are based on the same true story of German officers that tried to stop the war in 1944. As usual the American movie has bigger budget, more recognizable cast and more attempts to make the true story more spicy, but to be honest it didnít make much difference. The story was already interesting, the plot tensed, so putting Tom Cruise (who believes he actually looks like Stauffenberg) didnít add anything to quality of the movie. Creators didnít make much important inaccuracies, so overall it is quite good remake.




Our rating

7.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Valkyrie full movie


full movie Valkyrie full movie
full movie Valkyrie on DVD


Creators of Valkyrie

Bryan Singer movies

Bryan Singer

director


Christopher McQuarrie movies

Nathan Alexander movies


Cast of Valkyrie

Tom Cruise movies tom-cruise

Tom Cruise

as Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg


Kenneth Branagh movies kenneth-branagh

Kenneth Branagh

as Major-General Henning von Tresckow


Bill Nighy movies bill-nighy

Bill Nighy

as General Friedrich Olbricht


Tom Wilkinson movies tom-wilkinson

Tom Wilkinson

as General Friedrich Fromm


Carice van Houten movies carice-van-houten

Carice van Houten

as Nina von Stauffenberg


Terence Stamp movies terence-stamp

Terence Stamp

as Ludwig Beck


Thomas Kretschmann movies thomas-kretschmann

Thomas Kretschmann

as Major Otto Ernst Remer


Christian Berkel movies christian-berkel

Christian Berkel

as Colonel Mertz von Quirnheim


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Valkyrie

World War II (1936-1945)