Very Important Person war movie
Very Important Person war movie

Very Important Person (1961, United Kingdom)

Categories: POW camp movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: English


Sir Ernest Pease, brilliant but rather unpleasant British scientist, working on aircraft development is required to fly with RAF and see the effects of his work. The War Office doesnít want anyone to know who he is, so he is forced to wear a uniform. Since he refused to shave off his beard he canít pretend to be RAF officer (they were not allowed to have beards) his camouflage will the position of Royal Navy public relations officer. Unfortunately the bomber he is traveling on is damaged over France and Pease is taken to the prisoners of war camp. Since he canít reveal his true identity other officers suspect he could be German spy and his rough personality doesnít help either.

British comedy about prisoners of war camp and the struggle of British officers to find the way of helping Pease to escape. Kept in rather light tone and with cast full of well known comedy actors the film is quite entertaining. The plan of escape actually happened, but the characters and the story are fictious.




Our rating

5.6

Film value

6 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Very Important Person full movie


full movie Very Important Person on DVD


Creators of Very Important Person

Ken Annakin movies

Ken Annakin

director


Jack Davies movies

Jack Davies

screenplay



Cast of Very Important Person

James Robertson Justice movies james-robertson-justice

James Robertson Justice

as Sir Ernest Pease


Leslie Phillips movies leslie-phillips

Leslie Phillips

as Jimmy Cooper


Stanley Baxter movies stanley-baxter

Stanley Baxter

as Jock Everett


Stanley Baxter movies stanley-baxter

Stanley Baxter

as Kommondant Stamfel


Eric Sykes movies eric-sykes

Eric Sykes

as Willoughby, Sports Officer


Richard Wattis movies richard-wattis

Richard Wattis

as Woodcock, Entertainments Officer


John Le Mesurier movies john-le-mesurier

John Le Mesurier

as Piggott, Escape Officer


Norman Bird movies norman-bird

Norman Bird

as Travers, Senior British Officer


Jeremy Lloyd movies

Jeremy Lloyd

as Bonzo Baines


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Very Important Person

World War II (1936-1945)





Very Important Person war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog Italian war movies