Wake Island war movie
Wake Island war movie

Wake Island (1942, United States)

Categories: aircraft moviesartillery moviesbombardment moviesinfantry moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviessiege movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: English


Small garrison of US Marines on Wake Island atoll has to prepare for the Japanese invasion that follows the Pearl Harbor attack. They have just few airplanes and few naval guns to work with on a completely flat island. When Japanese airplanes start the bombardement they are prepared for the defence.

First scenes for this movie were shot while the battle was still on, which is probably the only such case in history. The army propaganda tried to make a use of the siege, comparing it to the Alamo, and even separate endings were made to be used depending on how the war was progressing. Overall it is quite good movie based on actual events (not 100% accurate, but comparing to other productions from same era it was made with high standards).




Our rating

7.2

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Wake Island full movie


full movie Wake Island on DVD


Creators of Wake Island

John Farrow movies

John Farrow

director


W.R. Burnett movies

W.R. Burnett

screenplay


Frank Butler movies

Frank Butler

screenplay



Cast of Wake Island

William Bendix movies william-bendix

William Bendix

as Pvt. Aloysius Randall


Robert Preston movies robert-preston

Robert Preston

as Pvt. Joe Doyle


Brian Donlevy movies brian-donlevy

Brian Donlevy

as Major Geoffrey Caton


Macdonald Carey movies macdonald-carey

Macdonald Carey

as Lt. Bruce Cameron


Albert Dekker movies albert-dekker

Albert Dekker

as Shad McClosky


Walter Abel movies walter-abel

Walter Abel

as Cmdr. Roberts


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Wake Island

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Wake Island (8 Dec 1941)





Wake Island war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog ambush movies