We Were Soldiers war movie
We Were Soldiers war movie

We Were Soldiers (2002, United States)

Categories: ambush movieshelicopter moviesinfantry moviesjungle movieslanding moviesmilitary base moviessiege movies

Running time: 140 minutes

Language: English / Vietnamese / French


Lieutenant Moore is put in charge of battalion of cavalry, which in 1960s meant that they are using the helicopters to transport them to a battlefield. Moore trains his men preparing them for the mission they are about to take up - the strike into Vietnam, where 10 years earlier French colonial forces where destroyed by North Vietnam army. Moore unit is deployed to Ia Drang Valley where they are surrounded by predominant Vietnamese forces. Soon after landing one of the platoons is cut off from the main forces, but due to difficult defensive position Moore cannot straight away help them. Vietnamese commander realizes that he can annihilate the whole American forces...

War movie about Vietnam war based on the book by Lieutenant Moore, who was leading the 1st Battalion, 7th Cavalry Regiment, at the Battle of Ia Drang. Moore himself was complaining how the Hollywood producers always "got it wrong" when making movies about Vietnam War, so this time the director (Randall Wallace) decided to make it right and accurate. And according to veterans he did. Except some details, like that the final heroic push by Moore never actually took place... But I guess it isnít important who did what (or didnít). The battle itself was inconclusive - Americans landed in the valley and after 3 days of heavy fights have retreated (of course both sides claimed the victory), but it isnít how it looks in this movie.

Overall it is rather good movie and presents the first major battle of American forces in Vietnam and also how families of the soldiers back home had to cope with the lost of loved ones. There are some weak points of the production, like mentioned lack of historical accuracy, strong religious overtones that donít add anything to the film value or uninspired propaganda-like style of narration (similiar to John Wayne movies). But on the other hand we have realistic battle scenes made with decent effort. Comparing to other Vietnam war movies it is good, but overall it might have been better.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



We Were Soldiers full movie


full movie We Were Soldiers full movie
full movie We Were Soldiers on DVD


Creators of We Were Soldiers

Randall Wallace movies

Randall Wallace movies

Randall Wallace

screenplay


Joseph L. Galloway movies

Harold G. Moore movies

Harold G. Moore

screenplay



Cast of We Were Soldiers

Mel Gibson movies

Mel Gibson

as Lt. Col. Moore


Sam Elliott movies sam-elliott

Sam Elliott

as Sgt. Maj. Plumley


Chris Klein movies chris-klein

Chris Klein

as 2nd Lt. Geoghegan


Barry Pepper movies barry-pepper

Barry Pepper

as Joe Galloway


Duong Don movies duong-don

Duong Don

as Lt. Col. Nguyen Huu An


Keri Russell movies keri-russell

Keri Russell

as Barbara Geoghegan


Madeleine Stowe movies madeleine-stowe

Madeleine Stowe

as Julie Moore


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in We Were Soldiers

First Indochina War (1946-1954) Vietnam War (1955-1975) Battle of Ia Drang (14 Nov 1965)