Westerplatte war movie
Westerplatte war movie

Westerplatte (1967, Poland)

Categories: bombardment moviesinfantry movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviessiege movies

Running time: 90 minutes

Language: Polish / German


On the verge of World War 2 Gdansk was a free city, detached from Poland by Treaty of Versailles, but Poland had one single military outpost withing the Free City of Gdansk (German: Danzig). It was called Polish Military Transit Depot - with garrison of 88 men (by September 1939 secretly increased to 180) it was rather symbolic object. On 1st September 1939 Nazi Germany started the invasion of Poland and Westerplatte was among their primary targets. Few days earlier battleship Schleswig-Holstein arrived to Gdansk with a "courtesy visit", not his 280mm guns were bombarding the area of Westerplatte. Polish commander, major Sucharski, knew he has not enough men to defend Westerplatte for long time - his orders were to hold the enemy for about 12 hours before the relief forces from Poland will arrive, but with ongoing invasion it was obvious help might not be coming any soon. Nevertheless he set up the garrison forces for defence - he had one 75mm gun, two antitank guns, four mortars and some machine guns. When assault of land forces started Poles repelled one attack after another. Germans brought further troops and their Stuka bombers to break the defence of Sucharski.

Movie filmed in almost documentary fashion, it depicts the heroic defence of military outpost in Westerplatte - one of the most heroic episodes of Polish Army during the World War 2. Unfortunately the film is made with only decent effort - most of the battle scenes are taken from wartime documentaries (especially German attacks), but those presenting Polish troops are bit better. Still it isn’t a masterpiece - just another average war movie.




Our rating

6.0

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Westerplatte full movie


full movie Westerplatte full movie


Creators of Westerplatte

Stanislaw Rozewicz movies

Jan Jozef Szczepanski movies


Cast of Westerplatte

Zygmunt Hubner movies zygmunt-hubner

Zygmunt Hubner

as Major Henryk Sucharski


Arkadiusz Bazak movies arkadiusz-bazak

Arkadiusz Bazak

as Captain Franiciszek Dabrowski


Tadeusz Schmidt movies tadeusz-schmidt

Tadeusz Schmidt

as Jan Gryczman


Jerzy Nowak movies jerzy-nowak

Jerzy Nowak

as Platoon-leader Piotr Buder


Tadeusz Plucinski movies tadeusz-plucinski

Tadeusz Plucinski

as Corporal Bronisław Grudzinski


Bogusz Bilewski movies bogusz-bilewski

Bogusz Bilewski

as Captain Mieczyslaw Slaby


Jozef Nalberczak movies jozef-nalberczak

Jozef Nalberczak

as Corporal Edmund Szamlewski


Andrzej Zaorski movies andrzej-zaorski

Andrzej Zaorski

as Lieutenant Kreglicki


Roman Wilhelmi movies roman-wilhelmi

Roman Wilhelmi

as Franciszek Bartoszak


Bohdan Ejmont movies bohdan-ejmont

Bohdan Ejmont

as Mate Bernard Rygielski


Zbigniew Jozefowicz movies zbigniew-jozefowicz

Zbigniew Jozefowicz

as Sergeant Kazimierz Rasinski


Andrzej Krasicki movies andrzej-krasicki

Andrzej Krasicki

as Colonel Karl Henke


Mieczyslaw Milecki movies mieczyslaw-milecki

Mieczyslaw Milecki

as Lieutenant Stefan Grodecki


Stanislaw Niwinski movies stanislaw-niwinski

Stanislaw Niwinski

as Private Jan Polec


Janusz Paluszkiewicz movies janusz-paluszkiewicz

Janusz Paluszkiewicz

as Sergeant Leonard Piotrowski


Mieczyslaw Stoor movies mieczyslaw-stoor

Mieczyslaw Stoor

as Corporal Adolf Petzelt


Andrzej Zaorski movies andrzej-zaorski

Andrzej Zaorski

as Lieutenant Zdzislaw Kregielski


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Westerplatte

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Westerplatte (1 Sep 1939)