What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie

What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? (1966, United States)

Categories: infantry moviesurban warfare movies

Running time: 116 minutes

Language: English


The invasion of Sicily during World War II is in full swing, American forces are pushing through the enemy lines. Captain Cash arrives to the headquarters of General Bolt, where he advices general to attack the village of Valerno that is still in Italian hands. Bolt is not convinced, especially since there are no intelligence data about enemy forces and he only had one unit available, Company C that has no commanding officer. But Cash makes enough impact on general to convince him that attack is good idea, what’s more general puts Cash in charge of Company C to lead the attack. Cash as officer, who does everything strictly by the book has problems with reaching his men, who seem to respect more easy-going Lieutenant Christian. When Company C arrives to Valerno they find all the streets empty and the village seems to be deserted. They spot the enemy at the local soccer ground, where Italian soldiers take part in a match. To Cash’s surprise Italian Captain Oppo not only doesn’t plan to put up any fight, he seems to be relieved they are finally taken prisoners. Cash accepts their surrender and orders them to march out of the village, but Captain Oppo demands they are let to spend rest of the wine festival in the village or he will not surrender. Under influence of Lieutenant Christian, Cash agrees to postpone the surrender of Italian soldiers to the next day and send message to HQ that they have stumbled upon some resistance. When they wake up in the morning, both sides with gigantic hangover, the news arrives that soon Major Pott of US intelligence unit will arrive to Valerno to check on the situation, so now Americans, with help of Italians, have to stage the struggle to takeover of the village. But not everything goes according to plan and situation gets out of hand.

Blake Edwards war comedy set during World War II about tiny gesture that starts the escalation of situation to the point in which Americans and Italians do not control it any more. Even though the movie is a bit long (two hours) and parts of it lack pace What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? is one of the best war comedies of the era. Of course it lacks realism or historical accuracy, but the story is entertaining enough to keep the film going.




Our rating

5.2

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

2 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? full movie


full movie What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? on DVD
full movie What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? on DVD
full movie What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? full movie


What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? videos


What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?




Creators of What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?

Blake Edwards movies

Blake Edwards movies

Blake Edwards

screenplay


Maurice Richlin movies

Maurice Richlin

screenplay


William Peter Blatty movies


Cast of What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?

James Coburn movies james-coburn

James Coburn

as Lieutenant Christian


Dick Shawn movies dick-shawn

Dick Shawn

as Captain Cash


Sergio Fantoni movies sergio-fantoni

Sergio Fantoni

as Captain Oppo


Giovanna Ralli movies giovanna-ralli

Giovanna Ralli

as Gina Romano


Aldo Ray movies aldo-ray

Aldo Ray

as Sergeant Rizzo


Vito Scotti movies vito-scotti

Vito Scotti

as Frederico


Jay Novello movies jay-novello

Jay Novello

as Mayor Romano


Carroll O’Connor movies carroll-o’connor

Carroll O’Connor

as General Bolt


Leon Askin movies leon-askin

Leon Askin

as Colonel Kastorp


Harry Morgan movies harry-morgan

Harry Morgan

as Major Pott


Kurt Kreuger movies kurt-kreuger

Kurt Kreuger

as German Captain


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?

World War II (1936-1945) Invasion of Sicily (9 Jul 1943)





What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies