War movies

War movies show the picture of conflicts between people and at the same time show the picture of all of us. Some of the war movies present the soldiers on the front, sometime the civilians that suffer during the war. As many veterans of war say they often are not hurt phisically, but the damages that were done to their souls cannot be repaired.


Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

103 years ago on 28 June 1914 Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand took place. The assasination that took place in Sarajevo and triggered one of the most horrifying wars in history - the World War I.


Napoleonic Wars1803-1815American Civil War1861-1865World War I1914-1918World War II1936-1945Korean War1950-1953Cold War1953-1991Vietnam War1955-1975Gulf War1990-1991Iraq War2003-2011aircraft moviesambush moviesbombardment moviescavalry moviescommandos moviescovert operations moviesdesert moviesinfantry moviesjungle moviesknights movieslanding movieslast stand moviesmilitary base moviesnavy moviespartisans moviespolitical moviesPOW camp moviesraid moviesreconnaissance moviesresistance moviessiege moviesspecial forces moviesspy moviessubmarine moviestrenches moviesurban warfare movieswinter movies American war moviesBritish war moviesPolish war moviesGerman war moviesFrench war moviesItalian war moviesRussian war moviesAustralian war movies World War 1 war games World War 2 war games Vietnam War games other war games tanks guide warships guide warplanes guide

Second Life

Second Life

Rockstar Bundle

Rockstar Bundle

What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie
What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie

What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? war movie

1966

What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? (1966, United States)

Categories: infantry moviesurban warfare movies



Running time: 116 minutes

Language: English


The invasion of Sicily during World War II is in full swing, American forces are pushing through the enemy lines. Captain Cash arrives to the headquarters of General Bolt, where he advices general to attack the village of Valerno that is still in Italian hands. Bolt is not convinced, especially since there are no intelligence data about enemy forces and he only had one unit available, Company C that has no commanding officer. But Cash makes enough impact on general to convince him that attack is good idea, what’s more general puts Cash in charge of Company C to lead the attack. Cash as officer, who does everything strictly by the book has problems with reaching his men, who seem to respect more easy-going Lieutenant Christian. When Company C arrives to Valerno they find all the streets empty and the village seems to be deserted. They spot the enemy at the local soccer ground, where Italian soldiers take part in a match. To Cash’s surprise Italian Captain Oppo not only doesn’t plan to put up any fight, he seems to be relieved they are finally taken prisoners. Cash accepts their surrender and orders them to march out of the village, but Captain Oppo demands they are let to spend rest of the wine festival in the village or he will not surrender. Under influence of Lieutenant Christian, Cash agrees to postpone the surrender of Italian soldiers to the next day and send message to HQ that they have stumbled upon some resistance. When they wake up in the morning, both sides with gigantic hangover, the news arrives that soon Major Pott of US intelligence unit will arrive to Valerno to check on the situation, so now Americans, with help of Italians, have to stage the struggle to takeover of the village. But not everything goes according to plan and situation gets out of hand.

Blake Edwards war comedy set during World War II about tiny gesture that starts the escalation of situation to the point in which Americans and Italians do not control it any more. Even though the movie is a bit long (two hours) and parts of it lack pace What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? is one of the best war comedies of the era. Of course it lacks realism or historical accuracy, but the story is entertaining enough to keep the film going.


Our rating

5.2 / 10


Film value

8 / 10


Realism factor

2 / 5


Adventure factor

2 / 5


Historical accuracy factor

1 / 5



What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? full movie


full movie What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? on DVDfull movie What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? on DVDfull movie What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? full movie


What Did You Do in the War, Daddy? videos


What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?




add comment

Comment below







Creators of What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?


Cast of What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?

James Coburn movies james-coburn
as Lieutenant Christian

Dick Shawn movies dick-shawn
as Captain Cash

Sergio Fantoni movies sergio-fantoni
as Captain Oppo

Giovanna Ralli movies giovanna-ralli
as Gina Romano

Aldo Ray movies aldo-ray
as Sergeant Rizzo

Vito Scotti movies vito-scotti
as Frederico

Jay Novello movies jay-novello
as Mayor Romano

Carroll O’Connor movies carroll-o’connor
as General Bolt

Leon Askin movies leon-askin
as Colonel Kastorp

Harry Morgan movies harry-morgan
as Major Pott

Kurt Kreuger movies kurt-kreuger
as German Captain


Events depicted in What Did You Do in the War, Daddy?

World War II (1936-1945) Invasion of Sicily (9 Jul 1943)