Where Eagles Dare war movie
Where Eagles Dare war movie

Where Eagles Dare (1968, United States)

Categories: commandos moviescovert operations moviesinfantry moviesspy movieswinter moviesraid moviescastle moviesparatroopers movies

Running time: 155 minutes

Language: English


During World War 2 British Major John Smith is given a task of infiltrating the castle deep behind the enemy lines. American general George Carnaby, one of the main planners of upcoming Allied invasion of Europe, was returning from Crete when his plane was shot down over Bavaria. From data available for British intelligence he survived and was taken to place called Adler Schloss (Castle of the Eagles) - a heavily guarded castle set upon a high mountain with cable car as the single way to reach the walls. Smith is given a team of veteran commandos to fulfill this vital mission of rescuing the general or at least stopping him from passing the informations to the Nazis. During the night commandos land high in the Alps of Bavaria, where they are suppose to mix within the troops that are located in nearby village. But one of the Smith’s men ends up dead after reaching the ground and Major is convinced that it wasn’t accident. From that point he begins to suspect that there is a mole in his group...

Thriller based on famous Alistair MacLean novel that describes a special operation deep behind enemy lines. It is a very good movie based on a very good novel and as usual in Alistair MacLean stories not everything is what is seems and together with the main characters we unveil the layer after layer of the true story. Great cast that involves Clint Eastwood and Richard Burton plus gripping story and the atmosphere of the danger set up one of the best pieces of entertainment surrounding World War 2. Of course the realism and historical accuracy are impossible to achieve in such adventure fiction, but apart from that it is an excellent war movie.




Our rating

6.4

Film value

9 / 10

Realism factor

1 / 5

Adventure factor

5 / 5

Historical accuracy

1 / 5



Where Eagles Dare full movie


full movie Where Eagles Dare full movie
full movie Where Eagles Dare on DVD
full movie Where Eagles Dare on DVD
full movie Where Eagles Dare read online


Where Eagles Dare videos


Where Eagles Dare




Creators of Where Eagles Dare

Brian G. Hutton movies

Alistair MacLean movies


Cast of Where Eagles Dare

Richard Burton movies richard-burton

Richard Burton

as Major Smith


Clint Eastwood movies

Clint Eastwood

as Lieutenant Schaffer


Michael Hordern movies michael-hordern

Michael Hordern

as Admiral Rolland


Donald Houston movies donald-houston

Donald Houston

as Christiansen


Peter Barkworth movies peter-barkworth

Peter Barkworth

as Berkeley


William Squire movies william-squire

Mary Ure movies mary-ure

Mary Ure

as Mary Ellison


Patrick Wymark movies patrick-wymark

Patrick Wymark

as Colonel Turner


Robert Beatty movies robert-beatty

Robert Beatty

as General George Carnaby


Brook Williams movies brook-williams

Brook Williams

as Sgt. Harrod


Vincent Ball movies vincent-ball

Vincent Ball

as Carpenter


Anton Diffring movies anton-diffring

Anton Diffring

as Colonel Kramer


Ferdy Mayne movies ferdy-mayne

Ferdy Mayne

as General Rosemeyer


Derren Nesbitt movies derren-nesbitt

Derren Nesbitt

as Von Hapen


John G. Heller movies john-g.-heller

John G. Heller

as German Major


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Where Eagles Dare

World War II (1936-1945)







Where Eagles Dare trivia


The novel

The novel Where Eagles Dare was actually written for the movie - Richard Burton approached producer Elliott Kastner looking for a superhero-like character that he would play. Kastner knew that Alistair MacLean was at that point the best author to provide an adventure script that would fit what Burton was looking for, but all the MacLean novels were already turned into movies or were in the process of being filmed. He persuaded MacLean to write something new and after six weeks writer presented him with Where Eagles Dare.





Where Eagles Dare quotes


Lieutenant Schaffer:
[referring to what Smith called him in conversation with Germans] "Second rate punk," huh?
Major Smith:
All I could think of on the spur of the moment.
Lieutenant Schaffer:
Thanks, that makes it even worse.




Themes in Where Eagles Dare

British commandosGerman infantrymountain warfarealpine troopsJunkers Ju 52



War movies like Where Eagles Dare

Age of Heroes 2011 war movie

Age of Heroes (2011)

British commandos unit on the mission in Norway to gather informations about German radar installations. Story based on real events that involved famous author Ian Fleming.

Where Eagles Dare war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog tank movies