Windtalkers war movie
Windtalkers war movie

Windtalkers (2002, United States)

Categories: infantry movieslanding movies

Running time: 130 minutes

Language: English


Fights on Japanese occupied islands on Pacific was one of the parts of the World War 2 - American Marines had to fight for each bit of the ground from the moments they jumped out of the landing crafts to the last cave and bunker Japanese have built. United States needed every bit of advantage they could get over enemy and one of the solutions they came up was a unique way of encoding messages. All the encryption methods had some weak points - for once every code can be at some point broken, also it takes time to encode and decode the messages, which in reality of battleground was crucial. The solution was example of out-of-the-box thinking - Navajo language was so rarely used and so different from any other that US Army decided to use the Navajo Indians to pass messages in their language so the Japanese were unable to decode it. Windtalkers tells story of rough friendship between weary veteran Marine and a young code talker Navajo soldier that he is suppose to guard during the landing on Saipan Island. Code talkers were using Navajo language to code messages in radio communication, so even if they were intercepted by Japanese the enemy couldn’t understand even a part of it. The code talkers or windtalkers were so vital for American army that each of them were given a guarding angel - veteran marine to keep them alive. Or at least not to let them be caught by Japanese.

Realistic depiction of fight on Pacific theatre with good cast and interesting plot. Directed by action movies specialist John Woo Windtalkers puts perhaps too much emphasis on dynamic camera work and heroic cliches rather than realism, but overall a strong war movie.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

8 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

4 / 5



Windtalkers full movie


full movie Windtalkers online
full movie Windtalkers on DVD


Windtalkers videos


Windtalkers




Creators of Windtalkers

John Woo movies

John Woo

director


Joe Batteer movies

Joe Batteer

screenplay


John Rice movies

John Rice

screenplay



Cast of Windtalkers

Nicolas Cage movies nicolas-cage

Nicolas Cage

as Sergeant Joe Enders


Adam Beach movies adam-beach

Adam Beach

as Private Ben Yahzee


Peter Stormare movies peter-stormare

Peter Stormare

as Gunnery Sergeant Hjelmstad


Noah Emmerich movies noah-emmerich

Noah Emmerich

as Private Chick


Mark Ruffalo movies mark-ruffalo

Mark Ruffalo

as Private Pappas


Roger Willie movies roger-willie

Roger Willie

as Private Charlie Whitehorse


Frances O’Connor movies frances-o’connor

Christian Slater movies christian-slater

Christian Slater

as Sergeant Pete Anderson


Jason Isaacs movies jason-isaacs

Jason Isaacs

as Major Mellitz


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Windtalkers

World War II (1936-1945) Battle of Saipan (15 Jun 1944)







Windtalkers trivia


Roger Willie

Roger Willie was originally hired as a dialect coach to the cast on the Navajo language, but his screen tests impressed the director so much that he hired Willie as actor to play Private Charlie Whitehorse.





Windtalkers quotes


Sergeant Joe Enders:
You think too much.
Private Chick:
First time I’ve ever been accused of that.




Themes in Windtalkers

US MarinesAmerican infantryUS ArmyM4 ShermanJapanese armyJapanese infantry



War movies like Windtalkers

Yesterday’s Enemy 1959 war movie

Yesterday’s Enemy (1959)

British captain has to make a difficult decision when his unit is lost in the middle of Burma jungle.