Assassination war movie
Assassination war movie

Assassination (1959, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Zamach

Categories: ambush moviesresistance movies

Running time: 85 minutes

Language: Polish


Early 1944 in occupied Warsaw, General Franz Kutschera is using mass executions of civilians as retaliation for the actions of Polish resistance. After execution of another 60 civilians Armia Krajowa (Home Army) underground organization plans the assassination of Kutschera and stop that madness. Young students lead by Zawada are chosen to carry out the operation.

Documentary-like war movie presenting the preparations and the operation of Kutschera assassination - from the point where the young resistance warriors had to get hold of cars and improvised weapons, the risks they had to take in occupied Warsaw to the ill fate of the assassins. Realistic and accurate presentation of real events, the atmosphere and the people behind the action, but film lacks the narration that would made it easier to watch.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

5 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Creators of Assassination

Jerzy Passendorfer movies

Jerzy Stefan Stawinski movies


Cast of Assassination

Zbigniew Cynkutis movies zbigniew-cynkutis

Bozena Kurowska movies bozena-kurowska

Andrzej Kostenko movies andrzej-kostenko

Andrzej Kostenko

as Colossus


Roman Klosowski movies roman-klosowski

Jan Lomnicki movies jan-lomnicki

Jan Lomnicki

as Marek


Stanislaw Mikulski movies stanislaw-mikulski

Wojciech Siemion movies wojciech-siemion

Michal Szewczyk movies michal-szewczyk

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Assassination

World War II (1936-1945)