Barbed Wire war movie
Barbed Wire war movie

Barbed Wire (1983, Poland)

Original / alternative title: Zasieki

Categories: infantry moviesreconnaissance moviestrenches movies

Running time: 95 minutes

Language: Polish / Russian


While units of Polish Armed Forces in the East formed in Soviet Union are preparing for their first major engagement near the village of Lenino the success of whole upcoming operation is depanding on making a break in German barbed wire lines. Three Poles volunteer to take on this mission, but beforet they will be sent into action they wait in the trenches and spend the time on recalling how they end up here.

War movie that is slightly different from previous Polish war films - made in 1983, after the Martial Law period of 1981, the film shows a difficult moment in Polish history when units of Polish Armed Forces in the East were formed under wings of Soviet Army, exactly the same army that few years earlier invaded Poland together with Nazi Germany. Thus the first half of the film is filled with scenes of low value, rather corny dialogues explaining the situation, flashbacks presenting the ways that led the Polish soldiers to Soviet Union. The last part is quite decent depiction of the mission to cut the barbed wire.

Overall the film was important because it showed the morale among Polish soldiers in 1943 that were often omitted in previous production, it showed the tough past of some of them, examples of being forced to join Wehrmacht and later treated by Soviets as spies, etc. But as for war movie it was just another low budget war film.




Our rating

4.8

Film value

5 / 10

Realism factor

3 / 5

Adventure factor

2 / 5

Historical accuracy

2 / 5



Creators of Barbed Wire

Andrzej Jerzy Piotrowski movies

Janusz Przymanowski movies


Cast of Barbed Wire

Damian Damiecki movies damian-damiecki

Olgierd Lukaszewicz movies olgierd-lukaszewicz

Andrzej Wojaczek movies andrzej-wojaczek

Anna Nehrebecka movies anna-nehrebecka

Janusz Bylczynski movies janusz-bylczynski

Wirgiliusz Gryn movies wirgiliusz-gryn

Wirgiliusz Gryn

as Serafin


Jerzy Janeczek movies jerzy-janeczek

Jerzy Janeczek

as Konstanty


Andrzej Kopiczynski movies andrzej-kopiczynski

Andrzej Kopiczynski

as Lieutenant


Ryszard Kotys movies ryszard-kotys

add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Barbed Wire

World War II (1936-1945) Invasion of Poland (1 Sep 1939) Battle of Lenino (12 Oct 1943)





Barbed Wire war movie © 2013-2017 War Movies Info

Google+ profile war films ww2 movies Kriegsfilme filmy wojenne war movies blog war movies