Zulu Dawn war movie
Zulu Dawn war movie

Zulu Dawn (1979, United Kingdom)

Categories: cavalry moviesinfantry movies

Running time: 115 minutes

Language: English / Zulu


In 1879 British administrators in South Africa are looking for excuse to start the war against their neighbours, the Zulu Empire. Despite objections from leading members of local society and from the superiors back in United Kingdom Lord Chelmsford prepares an expedition that will enter the Zululand and will punish the native inhabitants for their lack of respect for British laws. The expeditionary forces move forward towards the enemy, or at least where Lord Chelmsford is expects to meet Zulu warriors, but as it will soon be obvious it is a game of cat and mouse. Finally Lord Chelmsford decides to split his forces into two columns unaware that Zulus watch his every move and were hoping for such mistake.

Film shows the origins of Anglo-Zulu war that led to British defeat in Battle of Isandlwana (and gave Zulus later the motivation to take on Rorke’s Drift). It shows the mentality of men that were behind the decision to invade the Zulu Kingdom and the nature of people that took up this task. The British sense of superiority over natives led them to underestimate the power of Zulus and the Zulus made use of all the British mistakes. Film made by the creators of Zulu, who decided to show the less glorious events of Anglo-Zulu war. Impressive cast and again great battle scenes place Zulu Dawn among the classics.

Zulu Dawn was made after the success of Zulu in 1964 and by the creators of Zulu. It shows the other side of that conflict - instead of bravery we see here all the defects in British approach to the war with Zulus. Zulu Dawn shares the breathtaking landscapes of Zulu Kingdom, the massive battle scenes and very good acting.




Our rating

7.6

Film value

7 / 10

Realism factor

4 / 5

Adventure factor

3 / 5

Historical accuracy

5 / 5



Zulu Dawn full movie


full movie Zulu Dawn full movie
full movie Zulu Dawn on DVD
full movie Zulu Dawn on BluRay


Creators of Zulu Dawn

Cy Endfield movies

Cy Endfield

director


Cy Endfield movies

Cy Endfield

screenplay


Anthony Story movies

Anthony Story

screenplay



Cast of Zulu Dawn

Burt Lancaster movies burt-lancaster

Burt Lancaster

as Col. Durnford


Peter O’Toole movies peter-o’toole

Peter O’Toole

as Lord Chelmsford


Nigel Davenport movies nigel-davenport

Nigel Davenport

as Col. Hamilton-Brown


Simon Ward movies simon-ward

Simon Ward

as Lt. Vereker


Denholm Elliott movies denholm-elliott

Denholm Elliott

as Colonel Pulleine


Peter Vaughan movies peter-vaughan

Peter Vaughan

as Q.S.M. Bloomfield


James Faulkner movies james-faulkner

James Faulkner

as Lt. Melvill


Christopher Cazenove movies christopher-cazenove

Christopher Cazenove

as Lt. Coghill


Bob Hoskins movies bob-hoskins

Bob Hoskins

as C.S.M. Williams


Donald Pickering movies donald-pickering

Donald Pickering

as Maj. Russell R.A.


add comment

Comment below







Events depicted in Zulu Dawn

Anglo-Zulu War (1879) Battle of Isandlwana (22 Jan 1879)







Themes in Zulu Dawn

British army in AfricaBritish armyZulu warriorsBritish infantry



War movies like Zulu Dawn

Zulu 1964 war movie

Zulu (1964)

British soldiers in the secluded outpost in the middle of Africa have to face the army of Zulus.

Yesterday’s Enemy 1959 war movie

Yesterday’s Enemy (1959)

British captain has to make a difficult decision when his unit is lost in the middle of Burma jungle.